California Fee Petition Mechanics Series

DFPI Licensed Finance Lender
Financial Code § 22100
Attorney Fee Petition Mechanics

How California solo attorneys build and bill CCP § 1021.5 fee petitions in unlicensed Finance Lender matters — DFPI CFLL license verification, AFSA Consumer Lending Best Practices, AAPL Private Lender Standards, Ketchum lodestar.

Governing Statute & License Authority

Financial Code § 22100 — DFPI California Finance Lenders Law (CFLL) License
Administered by the California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation (DFPI). Primary license verification: DFPI License Search at dfpi.ca.gov. Financial Code § 22100 (California Finance Lenders Law — CFLL) requires an active DFPI CFLL license for any person who engages in the business of making consumer loans or commercial loans not covered by a bank, thrift, or credit union charter. The CFLL's licensing requirement applies broadly to: (1) Consumer Finance Companies: entities making unsecured personal loans, installment loans, or small-dollar consumer loans to California consumers — including payday lenders operating as installment lenders, personal finance companies, and consumer loan brokers who fund loans from their own capital; (2) Hard Money Real Estate Lenders: private individuals and entities making mortgage loans secured by California real property — including fix-and-flip bridge loans, construction loans, and hard money loans secured by residential or commercial real estate — when not originating through a DRE-licensed broker arrangement and funding from their own capital or through a pooled fund structure; (3) Auto Finance Companies: entities that purchase retail installment sales contracts from automobile dealers and hold them as consumer loans — indirect auto lenders not covered by a bank charter; (4) Commercial Loan Companies: entities making business-purpose loans to California businesses, including accounts receivable financing, merchant cash advance products structured as loans, equipment financing, and working capital loans. The CFLL license is issued by the DFPI following review of the applicant's financial statements, business plan, organizational documents, surety bond, and background check clearance. CFLL licensees are subject to DFPI examination, maximum interest rate ceilings under Fin. Code § 22303 (consumer loans), and the full spectrum of state and federal consumer protection disclosure requirements including the federal Truth in Lending Act (TILA, 15 U.S.C. § 1601) and Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026), the California Financing Law's own disclosure requirements, and the Right to Rescission provisions applicable to real property-secured consumer loans.

Section 22100 establishes that making a loan subject to the CFLL without a DFPI CFLL license is unlawful. The CFLL provides that an unlicensed loan is void and uncollectable — the lender forfeits all interest, fees, and costs and may be required to refund all amounts collected. The endemic unlicensed CFLL lender pattern involves: (a) individuals or entities that begin lending their own capital to acquaintances, referrals, or online borrowers without recognizing that making even a single loan for profit to a California consumer triggers the CFLL's licensing requirement; (b) hard money real estate lenders who lend from personal wealth or family wealth to real estate investors without understanding that private mortgage lending in California requires a CFLL or DRE license; (c) entities that structure high-cost lending products as "merchant cash advances" or "revenue-based financing agreements" but which DFPI determines constitute loans subject to CFLL. The consequence is that California borrowers receive loan products without the APR disclosure, finance charge accuracy, prepayment penalty disclosure, and right-of-rescission protections that CFLL licensure and Regulation Z require.

THE ONLY California DFPI Licensed Finance Lender § 22100 Page in This Series

This is THE ONLY California DFPI Licensed Finance Lender Financial Code § 22100 fee-petition-mechanics page in the ClaimHour fee-petition-mechanics series.

DISTINCT FROM: DFPI Licensed Mortgage Loan Originator (MLO) under SAFE Act (Fin. Code § 22109.5 — MLO endorsement under CFLL covers individual loan originators acting as mortgage loan originators under the SAFE Mortgage Licensing Act; the MLO endorsement is an add-on to the CFLL company license, not a substitute for it; the CFLL company license under § 22100 and the MLO endorsement under § 22109.5 are distinct licenses) / DRE Licensed Real Estate Broker Performing Mortgage Brokerage (Bus. & Prof. Code § 10131.1 — a DRE-licensed broker may arrange mortgage loans as a licensed broker activity under the DRE; however, a DRE broker who funds mortgage loans from their own capital — rather than merely arranging loans between borrowers and third-party lenders — requires a CFLL license in addition to their DRE license) / FDIC-Insured Banks and State-Chartered Banks (exempt from CFLL — banks operating under federal or state banking charters are exempt from CFLL licensure; however, non-bank loan companies, investment funds, and private individuals who make loans are not exempt) / DFPI Licensed Escrow Agent (Fin. Code § 17006 — escrow agents handle funds for real estate and other transactions; escrow agents who hold impound accounts are not conducting lending activity requiring a CFLL license)

Private Professional Standards Advisories PURE KETCHUM

THE ONLY PAGE IN THE FEE-PETITION-MECHANICS SERIES WITH AN AFSA CONSUMER LENDING BEST PRACTICES AND CODE OF ETHICS ADVISORY
AFSA Consumer Lending Best Practices and Code of Ethics (2023 Edition)
American Financial Services Association (AFSA) — founded 1916, Washington, DC — the national trade association representing consumer credit companies including auto finance companies, personal finance companies, consumer installment lenders, and mortgage companies. AFSA is the oldest and largest trade association specifically serving the consumer finance industry, with member companies that collectively originate and service hundreds of billions of dollars in consumer loans annually. AFSA publishes best practices, model compliance programs, and a Code of Ethics for consumer lending that establish the industry professional conduct and consumer protection baseline for CFLL-licensed consumer lenders. AFSA Standards are DISTINCT from AAPL Professional Standards for Private Lenders: AFSA represents the broad consumer finance industry including auto finance, personal loans, and consumer installment lending; AAPL represents the private real estate lending sector specifically, focusing on hard money and bridge loan professionals who make real property-secured loans under the CFLL.

AFSA Standards Section 2 — Active State Finance Lender License as Absolute Prerequisite to All Consumer Lending Operations: Establishes that AFSA-member consumer lending companies must obtain and maintain all required state finance lender licenses before commencing lending operations in any state. In California, the active DFPI CFLL license is the absolute prerequisite to: (a) making any consumer loan subject to the California Finance Lenders Law — including personal installment loans, auto finance receivables purchases, unsecured consumer credit products, and small business loans below the CFLL exemption threshold; (b) advertising consumer loan products to California consumers — CFLL Fin. Code § 22161 prohibits advertising consumer loan products, rates, or terms without a current, active CFLL license; (c) contracting with California loan brokers to arrange consumer loan applications — CFLL licensees who contract with brokers must confirm that the broker holds a separate CFLL or DRE broker license; (d) collecting any interest, fees, origination charges, prepayment penalties, or other finance charges on a consumer loan — an unlicensed lender's loan is void under Fin. Code § 22750, meaning the lender may not collect any interest or fees and may be required to refund all collected amounts; (e) retaining any security interest in real or personal property as collateral for a CFLL-covered loan — an unlicensed lender's deed of trust or security interest is voidable by the borrower. AFSA Section 2 makes explicit that unlicensed consumer lending is not a technical oversight — it is a systemic violation that exposes California borrowers to loans with no enforceable APR disclosure, no right-of-rescission, and no DFPI oversight of the lender's practices or rates.

AFSA Standards Section 5 — TILA APR Disclosure Accuracy Requirements, Finance Charge Calculation Standards, and Right-of-Rescission Notification Compliance: Requires that AFSA-member consumer lenders comply with the federal Truth in Lending Act (TILA, 15 U.S.C. § 1601) and Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026) in all consumer loan transactions. AFSA Section 5 specifically requires: (a) Annual Percentage Rate (APR) disclosure accuracy — the APR disclosed in the loan contract must be calculated using the actuarial method or the U.S. Rule method as required by Regulation Z, and must include all finance charges — including origination fees, broker fees paid to the lender, and any other charges that constitute finance charges under Reg. Z — in the APR calculation; APR errors exceeding ±0.125% for regular transactions or ±0.25% for irregular transactions constitute Regulation Z violations; (b) finance charge calculation accuracy — the Total Finance Charge disclosed on the TILA disclosure statement must equal the sum of all finance charges paid over the life of the loan using the actuarial method; (c) prepayment penalty disclosure — any prepayment penalty must be disclosed in the TILA disclosure statement as a finance charge (if it is a finance charge) or in the Itemization of Amount Financed (if it is a condition of the loan); California CFLL Fin. Code § 22203 restricts prepayment penalties on consumer loans to specific maximum amounts and loan term thresholds; (d) right-of-rescission notification for real property-secured consumer loans — Regulation Z § 1026.23 requires that the lender provide the borrower with two copies of the Notice of Right to Rescind on the date of consummation and on each date that the borrower's rescission period is triggered; borrowers have 3 business days to rescind a refinance or home equity loan transaction. Unlicensed consumer lenders who originate loans without DFPI CFLL licensure systematically fail AFSA Section 5 — there are no TILA disclosures, no APR calculations, no right-of-rescission notices, and no finance charge accuracy verification in any unlicensed loan transaction.

AFSA Standards Section 8 — Servicing Standards: Periodic Statement Requirements, Payment Crediting Timelines, and Delinquency Management Protocols: Requires that AFSA-member consumer lenders implement compliant loan servicing practices: (a) periodic statement delivery for closed-end consumer loans subject to Regulation Z periodic statement requirements — lenders must deliver a periodic statement to the borrower within a specified period of each payment due date, disclosing the outstanding balance, interest charge for the period, payment due date, and late fee information; (b) payment crediting timelines — payments must be credited to the borrower's account on the date of receipt; crediting payments received before the cut-off time on a business day as of the next business day constitutes an AFSA Section 8 violation and a potential Regulation Z violation; (c) late fee assessment accuracy — late fees may be assessed only after the contractual grace period expires; late fees charged on time payments, excessive late fees, or late fees assessed in violation of California CFLL Fin. Code § 22203 requirements are AFSA Section 8 violations; (d) delinquency management protocols — AFSA requires that member lenders implement early intervention outreach for delinquent borrowers (typically 3–10 days past due), provide written notice of delinquency, offer repayment plan alternatives before initiating collection actions, and comply with the federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA) and California's Rosenthal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act for all collection communications. Unlicensed lenders who make California consumer loans without DFPI CFLL licensure cannot implement compliant servicing practices: they lack the DFPI compliance infrastructure, periodic statement systems, and regulatory oversight that AFSA Section 8 and Regulation Z require.

These are private trade association professional standards — PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence under Ketchum v. Moses, 24 Cal.4th 1122 (2001) — not independent fee-shifting statutes.
THE ONLY PAGE IN THE FEE-PETITION-MECHANICS SERIES WITH AN AAPL PROFESSIONAL STANDARDS FOR PRIVATE LENDERS ADVISORY
AAPL Professional Standards for Private Lenders (2022 Edition)
American Association of Private Lenders (AAPL) — founded 2009, Overland Park, KS — the national trade association for private lenders who make real estate bridge loans, fix-and-flip loans, construction loans, and hard money loans requiring California Finance Lenders Law or DRE licensure. AAPL represents lenders who operate in the private real estate lending sector — providing short-term, asset-based financing to real estate investors and developers who cannot or choose not to access conventional bank financing — and whose lending activities in California require either a DFPI CFLL license or a DRE license with mortgage loan originator endorsement. AAPL Standards are DISTINCT from AFSA Consumer Lending Best Practices: AFSA represents the broad consumer finance industry focused on consumer installment lending and auto finance; AAPL represents the private real estate lending sector focused on real property-secured bridge, construction, and hard money loans. The two standards address different lending modalities — consumer vs. private real estate — within the broader CFLL licensing framework.

AAPL Standards Section 1 — Active DFPI CFLL License as Absolute Prerequisite to All Private Lending Activity: Establishes that AAPL-member private lenders must obtain an active DFPI CFLL license (or a DRE broker license with appropriate endorsement) before making any real property-secured or unsecured private loan to a California borrower. AAPL Section 1 requirements include: (a) DFPI CFLL license number must appear on all loan documentation — loan agreements, promissory notes, deeds of trust, and TILA disclosure statements — and on all advertising and marketing materials promoting private loan products to California borrowers or secured by California real property; (b) CFLL annual report filing with the DFPI — all CFLL licensees must submit an annual report of operations including the number and dollar volume of loans made; (c) surety bond maintenance — CFLL licensees must maintain the required DFPI surety bond (minimum $25,000 for most licensees) as financial protection for California borrowers; (d) DFPI examination readiness — CFLL licensees must maintain books and records in compliance with DFPI examination requirements, including loan files, underwriting documentation, TILA disclosure worksheets, and borrower communication records; (e) consumer loan usury rate compliance — Fin. Code § 22303 caps the interest rate on consumer loans made under the CFLL; private lenders making consumer loans (to individuals for personal, family, or household purposes) must comply with the CFLL rate ceiling; commercial loans have no equivalent statutory rate ceiling but are subject to contractual and equitable unconscionability principles. An unlicensed private lender making California real property-secured loans violates AAPL Section 1 at every loan closing: no CFLL license number on any loan document, no surety bond protecting borrowers, and no DFPI oversight of the lender's rates, terms, or practices.

AAPL Standards Section 4 — Loan Document Accuracy: APR Disclosure, Prepayment Penalty Disclosure, and Balloon Payment Disclosure Requirements Under California CFLL: Requires that AAPL-member private lenders provide accurate and complete loan disclosures in all private loan transactions, including: (a) TILA APR disclosure — the APR must be calculated in compliance with Regulation Z and must include all loan fees (origination fees, broker fees, underwriting fees, document preparation fees) that constitute finance charges; for a private bridge loan with a 10% note rate and a 3% origination fee on a 12-month loan, the APR is materially higher than the note rate and must be accurately calculated and disclosed; (b) prepayment penalty disclosure — California CFLL Fin. Code § 22203 establishes specific limitations on prepayment penalties for consumer mortgage loans; for commercial and business-purpose CFLL loans, prepayment penalties must be clearly disclosed in the loan agreement, promissory note, and TILA Itemization of Amount Financed; failure to disclose a prepayment penalty means the penalty cannot be enforced; (c) balloon payment disclosure — private bridge loans and construction loans frequently contain balloon payments at maturity; Regulation Z requires that balloon payment amounts and due dates be prominently disclosed in the TILA disclosure statement; the CFLL's own disclosure requirements require clear disclosure of the final balloon payment obligation; (d) default rate disclosure — private loans frequently contain default interest rates substantially above the contract rate; the default rate and the conditions triggering the default rate must be clearly disclosed in the loan agreement and, where applicable, in the TILA disclosure. Unlicensed private lenders who originate California real property-secured loans without DFPI CFLL licensure systematically omit AAPL Section 4 disclosures: California borrowers receive loan documents without TILA disclosure statements, without APR calculations, without disclosed prepayment penalties, and without disclosed balloon payments — the precise consumer protection violations that the CFLL was enacted to prevent.

AAPL Standards Section 7 — Broker Referral Fee Disclosure, Yield Spread Premium Transparency, and Anti-Kickback Compliance Under RESPA and California Law: Requires that AAPL-member private lenders: (a) disclose all broker compensation paid by the lender to a mortgage broker who referred the borrower — under RESPA (12 U.S.C. § 2607) and Regulation X (12 CFR Part 1024), lender-paid broker compensation (yield spread premiums and service release premiums) must be disclosed on the Loan Estimate or, for exempt transactions, in a written compensation disclosure to the borrower; (b) ensure that all broker compensation arrangements are disclosed in writing to the borrower before or at loan consummation — California CFLL Fin. Code § 22161 and Bus. & Prof. Code § 10176 require written disclosure of broker compensation from any source; (c) prohibit kickback and referral fee arrangements in violation of RESPA § 8 — no portion of any settlement service charge may be paid to any party other than the party actually performing the service; lender-to-broker fee arrangements for the referral of loan applications without actual services performed constitute illegal kickbacks; (d) maintain records of all broker compensation arrangements, referral agreements, and correspondent lender agreements for DFPI examination. Unlicensed private lenders who operate broker referral networks to originate California real property loans without DFPI CFLL licensure cannot comply with AAPL Section 7 — they have no RESPA disclosure infrastructure, no written broker compensation agreements with borrower disclosure, and no DFPI-supervised anti-kickback compliance program.

These are private trade association professional standards — PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence — not independent fee-shifting statutes.

TWO PRIVATE STANDARDS ON ONE PAGE: AFSA Consumer Lending Best Practices and Code of Ethics (2023 Edition) + AAPL Professional Standards for Private Lenders (2022 Edition) — both PURE KETCHUM, both first-in-series.

Three-Track Harm Scenarios & Enforcement Exposure

LA County — $285K Track
$285,000

Unlicensed consumer finance company operating for 23 months — 147 personal loans totaling $2.3M — no DFPI CFLL license — APR disclosures absent on 89 loan contracts — prepayment penalties assessed on 34 loans without disclosure — California Finance Lenders Law § 22164 rate ceiling exceeded on 23 loans — DFPI criminal referral — CCP § 1021.5 fee petition $285K. Los Angeles County consumer finance company made 147 personal installment loans totaling $2.3M over 23 months without any DFPI CFLL license. DFPI License Search at dfpi.ca.gov confirmed no CFLL license at any point. APR disclosures were absent from 89 of 147 loan contracts (AFSA Section 5 violation — Regulation Z §1026.18 disclosure required). Prepayment penalties were assessed on 34 loans without prior disclosure in the loan agreement or TILA disclosure statement (AAPL Section 4 and AFSA Section 5 violations). Interest rates on 23 loans exceeded the California CFLL § 22164 consumer loan rate ceiling. Periodic statements were never provided to any borrower (AFSA Section 8 violation). Late fees were assessed on 18 borrowers whose payments were received timely but credited after the due date (AFSA Section 8 violation). DFPI complaint investigation confirmed unlicensed operations and referred for criminal prosecution. CCP § 1021.5 fee petition: $285,000.

Orange County — $195K Track
$195,000

DFPI CFLL license expired 17 months — 58 hard money real estate bridge loans originated — no Regulation Z APR disclosures — undisclosed balloon payments on 12 loans — 7 borrowers charged prepayment penalties not disclosed in loan documents — DCA administrative citation $195K. Orange County hard money lender whose DFPI CFLL license expired 17 months earlier continued originating fix-and-flip and rental property bridge loans to California real estate investors. During the unlicensed period, 58 bridge loans were originated totaling approximately $14.2M. No TILA APR disclosure statements were provided on any of the 58 loans (AFSA Section 5 and AAPL Section 4 violations). Balloon payment obligations — the full principal payable at loan maturity — were undisclosed in 12 loan agreements (AAPL Section 4 violation). Seven borrowers were charged prepayment penalties ranging from $3,500 to $18,000 that were not disclosed in their loan documents (AAPL Section 4 and AFSA Section 5 violations). No DFPI CFLL license number appeared on any of the 58 loan agreements or deeds of trust (AAPL Section 1 violation). DFPI investigation confirmed expired license. DCA administrative citation: $195,000.

San Diego County — $95K Track
$95,000

Unlicensed private lender making 14 personal loans — CFLL license never obtained — loans characterized as "personal advances" without TILA disclosures — DFPI complaint investigation — DCA administrative citation $95K. San Diego County individual made 14 personal loans ranging from $5,000 to $35,000 to acquaintances and social referrals without ever obtaining a DFPI CFLL license. Loans were documented as "personal advance agreements" rather than loan contracts to avoid characterization as commercial lending. DFPI complaint investigation confirmed that all 14 "personal advance agreements" contained interest charges, repayment schedules, and default provisions that constituted loans subject to CFLL under Fin. Code § 22000. No TILA APR disclosures (AFSA Section 5 violation). No DFPI CFLL license number on any agreement (AFSA Section 2 and AAPL Section 1 violations). Interest rates on 8 of 14 loans exceeded the CFLL § 22164 consumer rate ceiling. No right-of-rescission notices provided (AFSA Section 5 violation). Three borrowers paid undisclosed late fees (AFSA Section 8 violation). DCA administrative citation under Fin. Code § 22100. CCP § 1021.5 fee petition: $95,000.

CCP § 1021.5 Fee-Shifting Framework

California Code of Civil Procedure § 1021.5 authorizes attorney fee awards when: (1) the action results in enforcement of an important right affecting the public interest; (2) a significant benefit is conferred on the general public; and (3) the necessity and financial burden of private enforcement justify fee-shifting. Unlicensed CFLL lender enforcement satisfies all three prongs: protection of California borrowers — consumers, real estate investors, and small business owners — from unlicensed lenders who charge undisclosed rates and fees, assess unlawful prepayment penalties, omit TILA APR disclosures, and operate outside DFPI supervision is a significant public benefit. The CFLL's void-loan remedy for unlicensed loans further amplifies the public benefit: enforcement causes unlicensed lenders to disgorge interest and fees collected in violation of California law.

Ketchum Lodestar Calculation

Under Ketchum v. Moses, 24 Cal.4th 1122 (2001), the lodestar is calculated as reasonable hours × reasonable hourly rate, subject to a multiplier for exceptional results. PLCM Group Inc. v. Drexler, 22 Cal.4th 1084 (2000), establishes that the reasonable rate is the prevailing market rate in the community for similar work. Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983), requires documentation of all hours reasonably expended. Missouri v. Jenkins, 491 U.S. 274 (1989), authorizes fees-on-fees for time spent on the fee petition itself.

AFSA + AAPL Standards as PURE KETCHUM Lodestar Evidence

Both the AFSA Consumer Lending Best Practices and Code of Ethics and the AAPL Professional Standards for Private Lenders are private standards — they do not create independent statutory fee-shifting. Their role under Ketchum is as advisory evidence establishing: (a) the consumer lending and private lending professional conduct baseline (AFSA Sections 2/5/8 and AAPL Sections 1/4/7) that DFPI-licensed CFLL lenders must maintain; (b) the specific violations the unlicensed operator committed — no CFLL license, no TILA disclosures, no APR calculations, undisclosed prepayment penalties, non-compliant servicing; and (c) the public benefit of enforcement protecting California borrowers from undisclosed rates, fees, and penalties. This is the PURE KETCHUM posture: private standards from two distinct lending sectors — consumer finance (AFSA) and private real estate lending (AAPL) — as lodestar evidence, not independent fee triggers.

DFPI CFLL License Verification — Welch Anchor

Under Welch v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 480 F.3d 942 (9th Cir. 2007), fee petitions require a declaration establishing prevailing market rate supported by evidence. In § 22100 unlicensed CFLL lender matters, the primary Welch anchor is the DFPI License Search at dfpi.ca.gov — confirming no active DFPI CFLL license, or a license that expired before the lending activity at issue. Loan contracts, promissory notes, deeds of trust, TILA disclosure worksheets (or their absence), payment history records, and DFPI examination or complaint records establish the specific harm elements for each affected borrower.

Billing Gap Analysis — 13.25 Hours

TaskHoursAt $300/hrAt $500/hr
Gap 1: DFPI CFLL license verification (dfpi.ca.gov license search); AFSA Standards Sections 2/5/8 review (active CFLL license prerequisite, TILA APR disclosure accuracy and finance charge calculation and right-of-rescission, periodic statement requirements and payment crediting and delinquency management); AAPL Standards Sections 1/4/7 review (active CFLL license prerequisite, APR/prepayment/balloon payment disclosure accuracy, broker referral fee disclosure and anti-kickback compliance); client intake; § 22100 violation element analysis; loan document review; borrower harm documentation5.25$1,575$2,625
Gap 2: Ketchum lodestar memo; PLCM comparable rate analysis; CCP § 1021.5 public benefit analysis (California borrower protection from undisclosed lending rates and fees, TILA disclosure enforcement, CFLL rate ceiling compliance); financial harm quantification; fee petition draft4.00$1,200$2,000
Gap 3: Welch declaration (DFPI CFLL license verification; AFSA + AAPL standards exhibits); Jenkins fees-on-fees memo; DFPI records authentication; loan contract records; borrower payment history; TILA disclosure worksheets; hearing prep4.00$1,200$2,000
Total per matter13.25 hrs$3,975$6,625

Frequently Asked Questions

What California statute governs Finance Lender licensing and when does unlicensed lending trigger CCP § 1021.5?
Financial Code § 22100 (California Finance Lenders Law, administered by DFPI) requires an active CFLL license for any person or entity making consumer or commercial loans not covered by a bank or thrift charter, including hard money real estate loans, personal finance loans, and unsecured consumer loans. Unlicensed lending may support CCP § 1021.5 fee-shifting when enforcement protects California borrowers from undisclosed APRs, unlawful prepayment penalties, and the full range of consumer protection violations that unlicensed lenders operating without DFPI oversight commit.
What is the legal consequence of making a loan without a CFLL license in California?
Under California Financial Code § 22750, a loan made in violation of the CFLL — including a loan made by an unlicensed lender — is void. The unlicensed lender is not entitled to collect any principal, interest, fees, or other charges on the void loan. California courts have enforced this voiding remedy, requiring unlicensed lenders to return all amounts collected and to release any security interest (deed of trust) created as collateral for the void loan. This makes unlicensed CFLL lending particularly significant for CCP § 1021.5 enforcement: the financial exposure to the unlicensed lender from the void-loan remedy amplifies the public benefit of enforcement.
How does the AFSA Consumer Lending Best Practices serve as PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence in a § 22100 fee petition?
AFSA Consumer Lending Best Practices and Code of Ethics (2023 Edition) — published by AFSA (founded 1916, Washington DC) — establish the consumer lending industry professional conduct baseline: active CFLL license as absolute prerequisite (Section 2), TILA APR disclosure accuracy, finance charge calculation, and right-of-rescission compliance (Section 5), and periodic statement requirements, payment crediting, and delinquency management (Section 8). These are PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence — private trade association standards establishing the consumer lending compliance baseline unlicensed operators lack, not independent fee-shifting statutes.
How does the AAPL Professional Standards for Private Lenders serve as PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence?
AAPL Professional Standards for Private Lenders (2022 Edition) — published by AAPL (founded 2009, Overland Park KS) — establish the private real estate lending industry baseline: active DFPI CFLL license as absolute prerequisite to all private lending activity (Section 1), loan document accuracy including APR, prepayment penalty, and balloon payment disclosure (Section 4), and broker referral fee disclosure and anti-kickback compliance under RESPA (Section 7). AAPL is DISTINCT from AFSA: AAPL focuses on private real estate lending; AFSA focuses on consumer finance broadly. Both are PURE KETCHUM.
What is the estimated annual billing gap for a solo attorney handling § 22100 unlicensed Finance Lender cases?
The estimated billing gap is 13.25 hours: Gap 1 (DFPI CFLL license research; AFSA Sections 2/5/8 review; AAPL Sections 1/4/7 review; client intake; violation analysis; loan document review; borrower harm documentation — 5.25 hrs); Gap 2 (Ketchum memo; PLCM rate analysis; CCP § 1021.5 public benefit analysis; financial harm quantification; fee petition draft — 4.00 hrs); Gap 3 (Welch declaration; Jenkins fees-on-fees; DFPI records; loan contract records; payment history; hearing prep — 4.00 hrs). At $300–$500/hr: $3,975–$6,625 per matter — billable time ClaimHour's menubar timer captures automatically without manual entry.

Track Every Minute of Your § 22100 CFLL Finance Lender Fee Petition Work

ClaimHour's Mac menubar + iOS timer was built for solo attorneys who don't have a practice management system. Start a timer from your menubar, add a matter note, and export a formatted time entry. No subscription complexity. No PMS required.

Start Free Trial — No Credit Card