California Fee Petition Mechanics Series

CDPH Licensed Primary Care Clinic
Health & Safety Code § 1204(a)
Attorney Fee Petition Mechanics

How California solo attorneys build and bill CCP § 1021.5 fee petitions in unlicensed Primary Care Clinic matters — CDPH HFIS license verification, NACHC Standards of Care Excellence for Community Health Centers, URAC Primary Care Accreditation Standards, Ketchum lodestar.

Governing Statute & License Authority

Health & Safety Code § 1204(a) — CDPH Primary Care Clinic License (California Department of Public Health, Clinic Licensing Program)
Administered by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), Licensing and Certification Program — Clinic Licensing. Primary license verification: CDPH Healthcare Facility Information System (HFIS) at facilities.cdph.ca.gov. Health & Safety Code § 1204(a) (California Clinic Licensing Law) establishes CDPH Primary Care Clinic (PCC) licensure for organized outpatient facilities that provide primary and preventive health care services to patients of the general public using licensed health professionals. CDPH Primary Care Clinic licensure covers the following primary care facility types: (1) Community Health Centers (CHCs): nonprofit or governmental outpatient clinics providing comprehensive primary care, preventive care, and chronic disease management to underserved populations — many California CHCs operate as Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) under Section 330 of the Public Health Service Act with HRSA grants, which require an active CDPH § 1204(a) license as a condition of continued FQHC federal designation; (2) Urgent Care Clinics: walk-in outpatient facilities providing evaluation and treatment of acute illnesses and injuries that require prompt medical attention but are not emergencies requiring hospital-level emergency department care — urgent care clinics that provide organized primary care services to the general public under medical direction require CDPH § 1204(a) licensure; (3) Occupational Health Clinics: employer-sponsored or independently operated clinics providing workplace injury treatment, pre-employment physicals, occupational medicine evaluations, and drug testing services to employees — occupational health clinics providing organized primary care services qualify as primary care clinics requiring § 1204(a) licensure; (4) School-Based Health Centers (SBHCs): clinics located on or near school campuses providing primary care, mental health, and preventive services to students — SBHCs operating as independent primary care facilities require CDPH § 1204(a) licensure separate from the school's education license; (5) Retail Health Clinics: clinics operating within pharmacies, grocery stores, or retail establishments providing walk-in primary care, vaccinations, minor illness treatment, and preventive screenings — retail clinics providing services to the general public require CDPH § 1204(a) licensure. CDPH Primary Care Clinic requirements include: a medical director who is a licensed physician and surgeon in California; clinical staffing requirements including licensed physicians, nurse practitioners, or physician assistants providing direct patient care; quality management and infection control programs; medical record maintenance requirements; patient grievance and rights policies; CDPH inspection compliance and mandatory incident reporting; annual licensure renewal.

Section 1204(a) establishes that operating an organized outpatient primary care facility without an active CDPH Primary Care Clinic license is unlawful. The endemic unlicensed primary care clinic pattern includes: (a) urgent care clinic operators who expand from a single physician's office exempt from § 1204(a) licensure to a multi-provider, organized walk-in clinic serving the general public without obtaining a CDPH Primary Care Clinic license; (b) operators establishing community health clinics in underserved areas without applying for CDPH § 1204(a) licensure — the appeal of serving underserved patients does not exempt a clinic from California Clinic Licensing Law requirements; (c) operators who allowed a CDPH Primary Care Clinic license to expire and continued providing medical services — a lapsed license does not permit continued organized clinic operations; (d) telehealth platform operators establishing physical clinic locations to complement their telehealth services without obtaining CDPH § 1204(a) licensure for the physical locations. Patient harm from unlicensed primary care clinic operation is systematic and population-level: communities served by unlicensed primary care clinics receive organized medical care without CDPH infection control inspection oversight, provider credentialing verification, quality management accountability, or patient rights protection mechanisms — harms that affect the entire patient population of the clinic, not merely individual patients who experience specific adverse events.

THE ONLY California CDPH Licensed Primary Care Clinic § 1204(a) Page in This Series

This is THE ONLY California CDPH Licensed Primary Care Clinic Health & Safety Code § 1204(a) fee-petition-mechanics page in the ClaimHour fee-petition-mechanics series.

DISTINCT FROM: CDPH Licensed Chronic Dialysis Clinic § 1204 (Chronic Dialysis Clinics are specialty clinics providing life-sustaining renal replacement therapy — dialysis clinics require separate specialty clinic licensure under § 1204 distinct from primary care clinic licensure; a § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license does not authorize providing hemodialysis treatments) / CDPH Licensed Outpatient Surgery Clinic § 1248 (Outpatient Surgery Clinics perform procedures under general anesthesia, regional anesthesia, or moderate sedation — § 1248 licensure is required for surgical procedures; § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic licensure does not authorize operating room-level surgical procedures or anesthesia administration) / CDPH Licensed General Acute Care Hospital (GACH) § 1250(a) (GACH provides 24-hour inpatient acute care — a clinic providing only outpatient ambulatory care services does not need a GACH license, and a GACH license does not substitute for a § 1204(a) clinic license for a free-standing outpatient facility) / CDPH Licensed Home Health Agency (HHA) § 1726 (HHA provides home-based skilled nursing and therapy — HHA licensure does not authorize operating a clinic providing services at a fixed facility location) / Physician's Private Practice (a single physician operating an individual private medical practice providing care to the physician's own patient panel is generally exempt from § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic licensure — the trigger for § 1204(a) is an organized multi-provider or organized single-provider facility providing services to the general public on a walk-in or scheduled appointment basis as an organized clinic)

Private Professional Standards Advisories PURE KETCHUM

THE ONLY PAGE IN THE FEE-PETITION-MECHANICS SERIES WITH A NACHC STANDARDS OF CARE EXCELLENCE FOR COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTERS ADVISORY
NACHC (National Association of Community Health Centers) Standards of Care Excellence for Community Health Centers (2022 Edition)
National Association of Community Health Centers (NACHC) — founded 1971, Bethesda, Maryland — the national membership organization representing over 1,400 community health center organizations operating 15,000+ service delivery sites and serving more than 30 million patients nationwide, including Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs), FQHC Look-Alikes, and other community-based primary care clinics. NACHC establishes clinical quality standards, operational guidelines, and advocacy frameworks for community health centers serving medically underserved populations. NACHC is DISTINCT from URAC: NACHC is a trade association representing community health center organizations providing direct patient care — NACHC standards apply to the clinical care, quality management, and patient-centered practices of community health center organizations; URAC is an independent health care accreditation organization that evaluates all types of health care organizations against objective accreditation standards — the two organizations operate from a member-organization advocacy perspective (NACHC) and an independent accreditation evaluation perspective (URAC), covering complementary quality dimensions of primary care clinic operations.

NACHC Standard 2 — Active CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic License as Prerequisite for Community Health Center Operations: Establishes that NACHC-member community health center organizations must maintain an active CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license for each organized clinic service delivery site as the baseline for organizational quality compliance. NACHC Standard 2 requirements include: (a) license maintenance as FQHC eligibility condition — for federally qualified health centers, an active CDPH § 1204(a) license is a condition of continued FQHC designation under HRSA Section 330 — loss of the CDPH clinic license threatens FQHC designation and federal funding; (b) multi-site license management: NACHC Standard 2 requires organizational-level tracking of all CDPH clinic licenses for all service delivery sites — each physical clinic location requires its own CDPH § 1204(a) license; (c) medical director designation: Standard 2 requires that a licensed California physician and surgeon be designated as medical director for each licensed clinic site, with the designation documented in CDPH records; (d) staffing scope compliance: NACHC Standard 2 requires that all clinical providers at licensed clinic sites operate within their California license scope — physicians, nurse practitioners (NPs under BPC § 2835 standing orders or collaborative practice agreements), and physician assistants (PAs under BPC § 3502 supervisory arrangements) must practice within their licensed scope at all times; (e) incident reporting compliance: NACHC Standard 2 requires mandatory reporting of all reportable incidents to CDPH Licensing and Certification within required timeframes — delay in mandatory reporting is a separate CDPH licensing compliance violation.

NACHC Standard 5 — Clinical Quality Improvement: UDS Reporting, Chronic Disease Management Protocols, and Preventive Care Metrics: Establishes that NACHC-member community health centers must: (a) maintain a comprehensive clinical quality improvement program — NACHC Standard 5 requires a designated quality improvement committee, quarterly performance data review, documented improvement cycles using PDSA (Plan-Do-Study-Act) methodology, and annual quality goals approved by the organization's governing board; (b) UDS reporting accuracy: for FQHC-designated sites, Standard 5 requires accurate annual submission of the Uniform Data System (UDS) report to HRSA, covering patient demographics, clinical quality measures (diabetic A1c control, hypertension blood pressure control, childhood immunization, cancer screening rates), and financial performance data — UDS data inaccuracies are a federal compliance issue; (c) chronic disease management protocols: NACHC Standard 5 requires written clinical protocols for management of the most prevalent chronic conditions in the clinic's patient population — minimally, diabetes mellitus, hypertension, asthma, and depression — with evidence-based treatment targets, follow-up intervals, and specialist referral criteria; (d) preventive care metrics: Standard 5 requires tracking and improvement of preventive care performance measures including well-child visits, childhood immunization rates, adult preventive screenings (mammography, cervical cancer, colorectal cancer), smoking cessation counseling rates, and influenza immunization rates; (e) patient safety events: NACHC Standard 5 requires an internal patient safety reporting system for near-miss events, medication errors, diagnostic errors, and adverse outcomes — the quality committee reviews all patient safety events and implements systemic corrective actions.

NACHC Standard 8 — Patient-Centered Medical Home Standards and Care Coordination for Complex Patients: Requires NACHC-member community health centers to: (a) implement patient-centered medical home (PCMH) practices — NACHC Standard 8 requires each patient to have an assigned primary care provider (PCP) serving as the medical home anchor; after-hours coverage arrangements; same-day appointment availability for urgent needs; and an active patient panel management process; (b) care coordination for complex patients: Standard 8 requires documented care coordination processes for patients with complex chronic conditions, behavioral health co-morbidities, or multiple specialty care relationships — care coordinators or care managers must document coordination activities in the medical record; (c) behavioral health integration: NACHC Standard 8 requires integrated behavioral health services (or documented co-location or referral arrangements) for patients presenting with mental health or substance use disorder needs concurrent with primary care needs; (d) patient communication: Standard 8 requires patient portal access or equivalent patient communication tools for appointment scheduling, test result notification, and medication refill requests; and patient literacy-appropriate health education materials available in the languages of the patient population served; (e) care transitions: NACHC Standard 8 requires a structured process for managing care transitions from hospital to primary care, including post-discharge follow-up appointments within 7 days for high-risk patients, medication reconciliation at transitions, and communication with discharging hospitals.

These are national community health center association clinical quality standards — PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence under Ketchum v. Moses, 24 Cal.4th 1122 (2001) — not independent fee-shifting statutes.
THE ONLY PAGE IN THE FEE-PETITION-MECHANICS SERIES WITH A URAC PRIMARY CARE ACCREDITATION STANDARDS ADVISORY
URAC Primary Care Accreditation Standards (2023 Edition)
URAC (formerly Utilization Review Accreditation Commission) — founded 1990, Washington, DC — an independent, nonprofit health care accreditation organization offering accreditation programs across health care organizations including health plans, pharmacy benefit managers, specialty drug management programs, and health care organizations. URAC's Primary Care Accreditation Standards establish facility-level accreditation standards for primary care organizations demonstrating quality, accountability, and evidence-based care delivery. URAC accreditation is recognized by health plans, employers, and regulatory agencies as an indicator of primary care quality. URAC is DISTINCT from NACHC: NACHC is a membership trade association for community health centers providing advocacy, technical assistance, and member-developed quality standards from the community health center industry perspective; URAC is an independent external accreditation body evaluating primary care organizations against objective, externally validated standards with survey visits and accreditation decisions — the two cover complementary dimensions of primary care clinic quality accountability from an industry self-organization (NACHC) and independent external evaluation (URAC) perspective.

URAC Standard 3 — Active State Clinic License as Prerequisite for URAC Primary Care Accreditation Eligibility: Establishes that URAC accreditation eligibility for primary care organizations requires an active, current state license or regulatory authorization to operate as a primary care clinic as required by applicable state law. URAC Standard 3 requirements include: (a) license verification at accreditation application — URAC requires submission of a copy of the current active CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license as part of the accreditation application; a clinic that cannot produce an active CDPH license is not eligible for URAC Primary Care accreditation; (b) license maintenance as ongoing accreditation condition — any URAC-accredited primary care organization whose CDPH § 1204(a) license lapses must notify URAC immediately; URAC will place the accreditation on administrative hold pending license reinstatement; (c) multi-site license documentation: for organizations with multiple clinic sites, URAC Standard 3 requires submission of a valid CDPH § 1204(a) license for each site included in the accreditation; (d) license scope compliance: URAC Standard 3 requires that the CDPH license type cover the scope of services offered — a primary care clinic license does not authorize surgical procedures requiring § 1248 outpatient surgery clinic licensure; (e) regulatory action reporting: URAC Standard 3 requires organizations to report any CDPH licensing action, citation, complaint investigation outcome, or license condition within 30 days of the action to URAC's accreditation management team.

URAC Standard 6 — Clinical Quality Management: Performance Measurement, Quality Improvement Program, and Adverse Event Reporting: Establishes that URAC-accredited primary care organizations must: (a) maintain a formal clinical quality management program — URAC Standard 6 requires a designated quality director or manager, documented quality committee with defined membership and meeting frequency, annual quality work plan, and board-level quality report at least annually; (b) performance measurement system: Standard 6 requires collection and analysis of HEDIS (Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set) or equivalent clinical performance measures relevant to the organization's patient population — minimum performance measure domains include preventive care, chronic disease management, behavioral health, and patient experience; (c) performance benchmarking: URAC Standard 6 requires comparison of the organization's performance measure results against national benchmarks (NCQA HEDIS national percentile rankings or equivalent) and documentation of improvement goals for measures performing below benchmark; (d) adverse event reporting and analysis: Standard 6 requires identification of all adverse events (unexpected patient harm, sentinel events, near-misses, medication errors) through a defined safety reporting system; each adverse event must undergo root cause analysis (RCA) with documented corrective actions; (e) QAPI documentation: URAC Standard 6 requires documentation of the full quality improvement cycle for at least two clinical quality improvement initiatives per year, including baseline measurement, intervention implementation, post-intervention measurement, and sustainability planning.

URAC Standard 10 — Network Credentialing and Verification of Provider Licenses, Malpractice Coverage, and DEA Registration: Requires URAC-accredited primary care organizations to: (a) conduct primary source verification (PSV) for all licensed health care providers credentialed to provide services at the clinic — PSV for physicians must include: California Medical Board license status verification; board certification status (American Board of Medical Specialties or equivalent); National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) query; malpractice claims history; medical education verification; (b) DEA registration verification: URAC Standard 10 requires verification that all physicians, NPs, and PAs who prescribe controlled substances hold a current, active DEA registration — DEA registration verification must include review of the DEA registration certificate and confirmation of current registration status; (c) NP and PA collaborative practice documentation: for nurse practitioners and physician assistants providing services at the clinic, URAC Standard 10 requires documentation of the current collaborative practice agreement (CPA) or supervisory arrangement meeting California BPC § 2835 (NP) or § 3502 (PA) requirements; (d) malpractice coverage verification: Standard 10 requires verification that each credentialed provider holds current professional liability (malpractice) insurance coverage meeting the minimum limits required by URAC standards, with copies of current declarations pages maintained in the credentialing file; (e) re-credentialing cycle: URAC Standard 10 requires re-credentialing of all clinical providers at a minimum every two years, using PSV at each re-credentialing cycle — a provider whose re-credentialing lapses must cease providing services at the clinic until the re-credentialing process is completed.

These are independent health care accreditation organization standards — PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence — not independent fee-shifting statutes.

TWO PRIVATE STANDARDS ON ONE PAGE: NACHC Standards of Care Excellence for Community Health Centers (2022 Edition) + URAC Primary Care Accreditation Standards (2023 Edition) — both PURE KETCHUM, both first-in-series.

Three-Track Harm Scenarios & Enforcement Exposure

LA County — $285K Track
$285,000

Unlicensed "community urgent care clinic" providing primary care to 1,400+ patients without CDPH § 1204(a) license — 18 months — no medical director designation — no provider credentialing — 4 diagnostic errors — 1 missed cancer diagnosis — Medi-Cal billing fraud for services rendered in unlicensed facility — CDPH criminal referral — CCP § 1021.5 fee petition $285K. Los Angeles County operator marketed as a "Community Urgent Care and Wellness Clinic" providing primary care, chronic disease management, and urgent care services to over 1,400 patients over 18 months without a CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license. CDPH HFIS confirmed no clinic license at the facility address. No designated medical director (NACHC Standard 2 and URAC Standard 3 violations). No primary source verification of provider licenses for any of 4 clinical providers (URAC Standard 10 violation). Four documented diagnostic errors including one missed colorectal cancer diagnosis. No clinical quality improvement program (NACHC Standard 5 and URAC Standard 6 violations). Medi-Cal billing for clinic services rendered at unlicensed facility. CDPH criminal referral. CCP § 1021.5 fee petition: $285,000.

Orange County — $195K Track
$195,000

CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license expired 12 months — continued providing primary care and urgent care to patients — no quality management program — no infection control inspection — 2 CDPH-reportable adverse events not reported — DCA administrative citation $195K. Orange County urgent care and primary care clinic continued providing medical services after the CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license expired 12 months prior. CDPH HFIS confirmed license expiration and unlicensed operating period. URAC accreditation suspended upon CDPH license lapse (URAC Standard 3 violation). No quality management program meetings during the unlicensed period (NACHC Standard 5 and URAC Standard 6 failures). Two CDPH-reportable adverse events — a medication dispensing error resulting in patient hospitalization and a needle-stick injury — not reported to CDPH within mandatory reporting timelines during the unlicensed period (NACHC Standard 2 violation). CDPH infection control inspection was due and not conducted during the unlicensed period. DCA administrative citation under Health & Safety Code § 1204(a): $195,000.

San Diego County — $95K Track
$95,000

Unlicensed "telehealth and in-person wellness clinic" opening physical location without CDPH § 1204(a) license — 8 months — no medical director — no provider credentialing records — CDPH complaint investigation — DCA citation $95K. San Diego County telehealth company opened a physical clinic location to complement its virtual care services, providing primary care consultations, vaccinations, and chronic disease management to patients in-person without obtaining a CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license for the physical location. CDPH HFIS confirmed no license for the physical clinic address. No designated medical director for the physical location (NACHC Standard 2 violation). No primary source verification for any of 3 NPs providing in-person care at the physical location (URAC Standard 10 violation). No care coordination documentation for patients with concurrent telehealth and in-person care (NACHC Standard 8 violation). CDPH complaint investigation confirmed unlicensed primary care clinic operation at the physical location. DCA citation under Health & Safety Code § 1204(a): $95,000.

CCP § 1021.5 Fee-Shifting Framework

California Code of Civil Procedure § 1021.5 authorizes attorney fee awards when: (1) the action results in enforcement of an important right affecting the public interest; (2) a significant benefit is conferred on the general public; and (3) the necessity and financial burden of private enforcement justify fee-shifting. Unlicensed primary care clinic enforcement satisfies all three prongs: California's Primary Care Clinic Licensing Law exists to ensure that organized outpatient facilities providing medical care to the general public meet minimum standards for provider credentialing, infection control, quality management, and patient rights. Unlicensed primary care clinics operating without CDPH oversight expose patients — often underserved communities that depend on community clinics — to unverified provider credentials, absence of quality improvement accountability, and no CDPH complaint mechanism when care quality falls below standards. Protection of California patients from unlicensed organized primary care facilities is a significant public benefit justifying CCP § 1021.5 fee-shifting.

Ketchum Lodestar Calculation

Under Ketchum v. Moses, 24 Cal.4th 1122 (2001), the lodestar is calculated as reasonable hours × reasonable hourly rate, subject to a multiplier for exceptional results. PLCM Group Inc. v. Drexler, 22 Cal.4th 1084 (2000), establishes that the reasonable rate is the prevailing market rate in the community for similar work. Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983), requires documentation of all hours reasonably expended. Missouri v. Jenkins, 491 U.S. 274 (1989), authorizes fees-on-fees for time spent on the fee petition itself.

NACHC + URAC Standards as PURE KETCHUM Lodestar Evidence

Both NACHC Standards of Care Excellence and URAC Primary Care Accreditation Standards are private professional association and accreditation organization standards — they do not create independent statutory fee-shifting. Their role under Ketchum is as advisory evidence establishing: (a) the primary care clinic quality baseline (NACHC Standards 2/5/8 and URAC Standards 3/6/10) that CDPH § 1204(a)-licensed primary care facilities must maintain; (b) the specific violations committed by the unlicensed facility — no CDPH license, no medical director, no provider credentialing, no quality management program; and (c) the public benefit of enforcement protecting California patients from unlicensed organized primary care facilities without CDPH quality oversight and provider credentialing accountability. This is the PURE KETCHUM posture: community health center trade association quality standards (NACHC) and independent health care accreditation standards (URAC) as lodestar evidence from two distinct accountability dimensions — not independent fee triggers.

CDPH Primary Care Clinic License Verification — Welch Anchor

Under Welch v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 480 F.3d 942 (9th Cir. 2007), fee petitions require a declaration establishing prevailing market rate supported by evidence. In § 1204(a) unlicensed primary care clinic matters, the primary Welch anchor is the CDPH Healthcare Facility Information System (HFIS) at facilities.cdph.ca.gov — confirming no active CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license for the facility address, or a license that was expired during the clinic operation period at issue. CDPH investigation records, provider credentialing records (or their absence), medical director designation records (or their absence), quality management program documentation (or its absence), CDPH-reportable adverse event records, Medi-Cal billing records, and patient harm documentation establish the specific harm elements for each unlicensed primary care clinic matter.

Billing Gap Analysis — 13.25 Hours

TaskHoursAt $300/hrAt $500/hr
Gap 1: CDPH HFIS license verification (facilities.cdph.ca.gov — § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic license status, expiration date, address); NACHC Standards 2/5/8 review (CDPH license as FQHC and community health center prerequisite; clinical quality improvement, UDS reporting, and chronic disease protocols; patient-centered medical home and care coordination); URAC Standards 3/6/10 review (state license as URAC accreditation prerequisite; clinical quality management, performance measurement, adverse event reporting; provider credentialing, DEA verification, malpractice coverage); client intake; § 1204(a) violation analysis; provider credential records; quality program documentation; patient harm records5.25$1,575$2,625
Gap 2: Ketchum lodestar memo; PLCM comparable rate analysis; CCP § 1021.5 public benefit analysis (California patient protection from unlicensed primary care clinics; CDPH primary care clinic quality oversight enforcement; provider credentialing and quality accountability); patient harm quantification; diagnostic error and adverse event documentation; fee petition draft4.00$1,200$2,000
Gap 3: Welch declaration (CDPH HFIS license documentation; NACHC and URAC standards exhibits); Jenkins fees-on-fees memo; CDPH investigation records; provider credentialing records (or absence); medical director designation records (or absence); quality management program documentation (or absence); adverse event reports (or absence); Medi-Cal billing records; patient harm records; hearing prep4.00$1,200$2,000
Total per matter13.25 hrs$3,975$6,625

Frequently Asked Questions

What California statute governs Primary Care Clinic licensing and when does unlicensed primary care clinic operation trigger CCP § 1021.5?
Health & Safety Code § 1204(a) (California Clinic Licensing Law, CDPH Clinic Licensing Program) requires an active CDPH Primary Care Clinic license for organized outpatient facilities providing primary care services to the general public using licensed health professionals. Unlicensed primary care clinic operation may support CCP § 1021.5 fee-shifting when enforcement protects California patients from organized medical facilities operating without CDPH quality oversight, infection control inspections, provider credentialing requirements, and patient rights protections.
Is a single physician's private practice exempt from CDPH § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic licensure?
Generally yes. A single physician operating a private practice providing care to the physician's own established patient panel using only the physician's own professional services is generally exempt from § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic licensure. However, when a physician expands to a multi-provider organized facility, employs mid-level providers (NPs or PAs) to see walk-in patients from the general public, or operates with the scale, staffing, and public-facing organization of a clinic, § 1204(a) licensure is typically required. The line is fact-specific, but urgent care clinics staffed by multiple providers and serving the general public on a walk-in basis are organized clinics requiring § 1204(a) licensure.
How does NACHC Standards of Care Excellence serve as PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence in a § 1204(a) fee petition?
NACHC Standards of Care Excellence for Community Health Centers (2022 Edition) — published by NACHC (founded 1971, Bethesda MD, 1,400+ member organizations, 30 million+ patients) — establishes the national community health center quality baseline: active CDPH § 1204(a) license as FQHC and community health center operational prerequisite (Standard 2), clinical quality improvement including UDS reporting and chronic disease management (Standard 5), and patient-centered medical home and care coordination standards (Standard 8). NACHC Standards are PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence — national community health center trade association quality standards establishing the licensed primary care facility organizational baseline, not independent fee-shifting statutes.
How does URAC Primary Care Accreditation Standards serve as PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence?
URAC Primary Care Accreditation Standards (2023 Edition) — published by URAC (founded 1990, Washington DC), an independent health care accreditation organization — establishes the primary care facility accreditation quality baseline: active state clinic license as URAC accreditation eligibility prerequisite (Standard 3), clinical quality management including performance measurement, QI program, and adverse event reporting (Standard 6), and provider credentialing, DEA verification, and malpractice coverage documentation (Standard 10). URAC Standards are PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence — DISTINCT from NACHC (NACHC = community health center industry trade association standards; URAC = independent external accreditation standards). Both cover complementary quality accountability dimensions of the licensed primary care clinic baseline.
What is the estimated annual billing gap for a solo attorney handling § 1204(a) unlicensed Primary Care Clinic matters?
The estimated billing gap is 13.25 hours: Gap 1 (CDPH HFIS license verification; NACHC Standards 2/5/8 review; URAC Standards 3/6/10 review; client intake; § 1204(a) analysis; provider credential records; quality program documentation; adverse event records — 5.25 hrs); Gap 2 (Ketchum memo; PLCM rate analysis; CCP § 1021.5 public benefit analysis; patient harm quantification; fee petition draft — 4.00 hrs); Gap 3 (Welch declaration; CDPH HFIS records; NACHC and URAC exhibits; provider credentialing absence; medical director absence; quality program absence; patient harm records; hearing prep — 4.00 hrs). At $300–$500/hr: $3,975–$6,625 per matter — billable time ClaimHour captures automatically without manual entry.

Track Every Minute of Your § 1204(a) Primary Care Clinic Fee Petition Work

ClaimHour's Mac menubar + iOS timer was built for solo attorneys who don't have a practice management system. Start a timer from your menubar, add a matter note, and export a formatted time entry. No subscription complexity. No PMS required.

Start Free Trial — No Credit Card