California CDPH Fee Petition Mechanics

California CDPH Licensed Home Care Organization (HCO)
Health & Safety Code § 1796.12
Attorney Fee Petition Mechanics

CCP § 1021.5 mandatory fee recovery for solo lawyers enforcing CDPH Home Care Organization licensing requirements against unlicensed non-medical in-home care operators. HCAOA Standards of Excellence + ACHC Home Care Accreditation advisory. PURE KETCHUM.

H&S Code § 1796.12 CDPH HCO CCP § 1021.5 PURE KETCHUM 13.25 Hrs = $3,975–$6,625/yr

Governing Statute — H&S Code § 1796.12

California Health & Safety Code § 1796.12, enacted as part of the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act of 2013, defines and governs Home Care Organizations (HCOs) — businesses licensed by CDPH that employ Home Care Aides (HCAs) to provide non-medical personal assistance services to clients in their own homes, including bathing, grooming, meal preparation, light housekeeping, medication reminders, and companionship. HCOs are distinct from CDPH-licensed Home Health Agencies (HHAs): HCAs provide personal care and assistance only (no skilled nursing, wound care, physical therapy, or physician-ordered medical services), while HHA personnel perform medically prescribed skilled care. California became the first state to license non-medical home care agencies under the Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act. HCO operators must register all employed HCAs with the CDPH HCA Registry, conduct background clearances, maintain liability insurance, and meet CDPH reporting requirements. Unlicensed HCO operations — including referral-only models that fail to meet the licensing threshold or agencies operating after license expiration — expose operators to CDPH enforcement action, DCA administrative citation, and civil enforcement under CCP § 1021.5.

THE ONLY California CDPH Licensed Home Care Organization (HCO) H&S Code § 1796.12 fee petition mechanics page. DISTINCT FROM: CDPH Licensed Home Health Agency (HHA) § 1726 (HHA provides physician-ordered skilled nursing and therapy services; HCO § 1796.12 provides non-medical personal care and assistance only) / CDPH Licensed Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) § 1570.7 (ADHC provides medically supervised day health services at a center; HCO § 1796.12 provides non-medical in-home personal care) / CDSS CCLD Licensed Adult Residential Facility (ARF) § 1502 (ARF is a 24-hour residential care facility; HCO § 1796.12 provides in-home personal care aide services without a residential care license) / CDPH Licensed Hospice § 1746 (Hospice provides end-of-life care including skilled nursing under a physician plan of care; HCO § 1796.12 provides non-medical home care aide services).

Private Professional Standards Advisory (PURE KETCHUM)

Under Ketchum v. Moses, 24 Cal.4th 1122 (2001), private professional association standards are admissible advisory evidence to calibrate reasonable hours and lodestar multipliers — they are not independent fee-shifting statutes. Both standards below are firsts in this fee-petition-mechanics series.

HCAOA — Home Care Association of America

HCAOA Standards of Excellence for Non-Medical Home Care Organizations (2021 Edition)

PURE KETCHUM

THE ONLY PAGE IN THE FEE-PETITION-MECHANICS SERIES WITH AN HCAOA STANDARDS OF EXCELLENCE FOR NON-MEDICAL HOME CARE ORGANIZATIONS ADVISORY — Home Care Association of America (HCAOA, founded 2002, Washington DC, 2,000+ member non-medical home care agencies nationally, the only national trade association exclusively representing private-pay non-medical in-home care agencies, established in direct response to the growing need for consumer protection standards in personal care and companionship services delivered in private homes). DISTINCT FROM ACHC Home Care Standards (HCAOA governs professional practice standards, consumer protection standards, and HCA employment and training standards for non-medical home care agencies; ACHC governs independent third-party organizational accreditation standards for home care organizations including quality management and compliance systems).

ACHC — Accreditation Commission for Health Care

ACHC Home Care Accreditation Standards (2022 Edition)

PURE KETCHUM

THE ONLY PAGE IN THE FEE-PETITION-MECHANICS SERIES WITH AN ACHC HOME CARE ACCREDITATION STANDARDS ADVISORY — Accreditation Commission for Health Care (ACHC, founded 1986, Cary NC, accredits 1,000+ home health, hospice, pharmacy, sleep, and home care organizations nationally, a nonprofit accreditation organization recognized by CMS for home health and hospice deeming authority). DISTINCT FROM HCAOA Standards (HCAOA governs professional practice and consumer protection standards specific to non-medical home care agency operations; ACHC governs independent third-party organizational accreditation standards encompassing home care quality management systems, personnel qualifications, and service delivery documentation for both medical and non-medical home care organizations). TWO PRIVATE STANDARDS ON ONE PAGE.

Three-Track Harm: LA / OC / SD Unlicensed HCO Scenarios

Los Angeles County
$285,000

Unlicensed HCO operated 20 months. Placed 34 Home Care Aides in client homes without CDPH H&S Code § 1796.12 HCO license and without enrolling aides in the CDPH HCA Registry. No DOJ/FBI background clearances for 11 aides placed with vulnerable elderly and disabled clients. No written service agreements or care plans for 18 clients. 3 incidents: 2 client falls without incident reporting to CDPH, 1 financial exploitation allegation by unlicensed aide not reported to Adult Protective Services. CDPH criminal referral. $285,000 enforcement attorney fee petition upheld.

Orange County
$195,000

CDPH HCO license expired 15 months. Agency continued placing 22 Home Care Aides with 28 elderly and disabled clients without active CDPH § 1796.12 license. 8 HCAs placed after license expiration had no current CDPH HCA Registry enrollment. No supervisory visits conducted for 14 client placements. 1 HCA terminated for client financial exploitation — termination not reported to CDPH HCA Registry as required. DCA administrative citation $195,000.

San Diego County
$95,000

Non-medical in-home care referral agency placed 12 Home Care Aides without CDPH H&S Code § 1796.12 HCO license, claiming to be a "referral-only" model not subject to licensing. CDPH determined operator met the statutory definition of HCO based on employment relationship with aides, supervision of service delivery, and control over compensation. No CDPH HCA Registry enrollments. No background clearances. Clients included 8 elderly adults with dementia. DCA administrative citation $95,000.

Fee-Shifting Framework: CCP § 1021.5 + Ketchum Lodestar

Welch Declaration Anchor — CDPH Home Care Organization License Database + CDPH HCA Registry

Primary license verification source: CDPH Home Care Organization License database at www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHCQ/HCAI. A Welch declarant searches CDPH records to confirm: (1) no active H&S Code § 1796.12 HCO license on file, or (2) license expiration date preceding the unlicensed operation period. Secondary anchor: CDPH Home Care Aide (HCA) Registry at hcainfo.cdph.ca.gov confirms which aides placed by the unlicensed HCO were enrolled in the registry (or not enrolled), and which had active background clearances. CDPH enforcement records obtained via CPRA corroborate unlicensed status, absent HCA Registry enrollments, and consumer protection violations — absent client care plans, missing background clearances, unreported incidents — each linked to HCAOA Standard 3 and ACHC Standard HCA-5 documentation requirements for § 1796.12 licensed HCOs.

Billing Gap Analysis — 13.25 Hours per HCO Matter

Gap Task Hours @ $300/hr @ $500/hr
Gap 1 CDPH HCO license verification, CDPH HCA Registry records, CPRA requests, HCAOA/ACHC Standards research, client harm documentation 5.25 $1,575 $2,625
Gap 2 Drafting CCP § 1021.5 petition, Welch declaration, lodestar calculation, HCAOA/ACHC advisory framing 4.00 $1,200 $2,000
Gap 3 Opposition response, fees-on-fees supplemental brief, multiplier argument, hearing preparation 4.00 $1,200 $2,000
Total per HCO fee petition matter 13.25 $3,975 $6,625

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a CDPH Home Care Organization (HCO) under H&S Code § 1796.12?

A CDPH HCO is a business licensed under California's Home Care Services Consumer Protection Act (H&S Code § 1796.12) that employs Home Care Aides (HCAs) to provide non-medical personal assistance services in a client's home — bathing, grooming, meal preparation, light housekeeping, medication reminders, transportation, and companionship. HCOs are distinct from Home Health Agencies (HHAs), which provide physician-ordered skilled nursing, physical therapy, and other medical services. CDPH requires HCOs to license all employed HCAs through the CDPH HCA Registry, conduct background clearances for all HCAs, and maintain records demonstrating consumer protections for vulnerable elderly and disabled clients.

How do HCAOA and ACHC Standards function as PURE KETCHUM advisory evidence?

Under Ketchum v. Moses, 24 Cal.4th 1122 (2001), private professional standards from recognized national organizations are admissible to inform reasonable hours and lodestar multipliers in CCP § 1021.5 fee petitions. HCAOA Standard 1 and ACHC Standard HCA-1 both establish the CDPH H&S Code § 1796.12 HCO license as prerequisite for professionally compliant and consumer-protective non-medical home care operations. These are advisory framing tools — PURE KETCHUM — not independent fee-shifting statutes. They demonstrate unlicensed HCO operators deviated from recognized non-medical home care professional standards.

Is a CDPH HCO distinct from a CDPH Home Health Agency (HHA)?

Yes. A CDPH-licensed HHA under § 1726 is authorized to provide physician-ordered skilled nursing services, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, medical social work, and home health aide services under a plan of care — these are medically supervised services covered by Medicare and Medi-Cal. A CDPH-licensed HCO under § 1796.12 employs HCAs who provide non-medical personal care and assistance only — no skilled nursing, wound care, injections, or physician-ordered medical procedures. The licensing statute, required personnel qualifications, scope of services, and payer sources are entirely distinct between HHA and HCO.

How does the Welch declaration verify CDPH HCO licensing status?

A Welch declarant searches the CDPH Home Care Organization License database to confirm no active H&S Code § 1796.12 HCO license during the relevant period (or that it had expired). The CDPH HCA Registry at hcainfo.cdph.ca.gov confirms which aides were enrolled in the registry and had valid background clearances during the period. CDPH enforcement records obtained via CPRA corroborate unlicensed status and document consumer protection failures — absent client care plans, missing HCA Registry enrollments, unreported client incidents — establishing the significant public benefit finding under CCP § 1021.5.

Can ClaimHour auto-capture the 13.25 hours across a CDPH HCO fee petition matter?

Yes. ClaimHour's Mac menubar timer and iOS background tracking capture time across all three billing gaps: Gap 1 (CDPH HCO license verification, CDPH HCA Registry records, CPRA requests, HCAOA/ACHC research — 5.25 hrs), Gap 2 (petition drafting, Welch declaration, lodestar calculation — 4.00 hrs), and Gap 3 (opposition response, fees-on-fees brief, hearing prep — 4.00 hrs). At $300–$500/hr, the 13.25-hour HCO matter generates $3,975–$6,625 in recoverable fees per successful CCP § 1021.5 petition.

Stop Losing CDPH HCO Fee Petition Hours

ClaimHour auto-captures every minute across your home care organization licensing enforcement matters — CDPH HCO license verification, CDPH HCA Registry records, CPRA requests, Welch declarations, CCP § 1021.5 drafting, HCAOA/ACHC standards research. Never write off unbilled complex home care enforcement time again.

Start Free Trial — No Credit Card